Operating System

What are the various types of scheduling algorithm ?

 Different Types of CPU Scheduling Algorithms

  • First Come First Serve (FCFS) Scheduling Algorithm. …
  • Shortest Job First (SJF) Scheduling Algorithm. …
  • Longest Job First (LJF) Scheduling Algorithm. …
  • Priority Scheduling Algorithm in OS. …
  • Round Robin Scheduling Algorithm in OS. …
  • Shortest Remaining Time First (SRTF) Scheduling Algorithm.
  • First-come, first-served (FCFS)
  • The process that arrives first in the ready queue gets the CPU. The lesser the arrival time, the sooner the process gets the CPU.
  • Priority scheduling
  • The scheduler selects tasks based on priority, with processes with higher priority executing first. There are two types of priority scheduling: preemptive and non-preemptive. In preemptive scheduling, a high priority process can interrupt a running process. In non-preemptive scheduling, a new process must wait until the running process finishes its CPU cycle.
  • Round robin
  • This algorithm distributes work evenly among all available resources, so no single resource is overworked. It’s often used for multitasking in time-sharing systems and operating systems with multiple clients.
  • Multilevel queue scheduling
  • This algorithm is implemented when processes in a ready queue are divided into different classes with different scheduling needs. For example, a system with foreground and background processes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *